MY THOUGHTS: BATMAN: THE KILLING JOKE

Before we get into this, I just want to say I have not read the graphic novel Batman:The Killing Joke. After seeing the movie last night, I’m on the hunt for it. As a Batman movie animated or otherwise this one is one of the best.

the-killing-joke-batgirl

My only beef is I was hoping for something a little bit longer but at the same time I feel like it was just the right length. If that makes sense. What makes this movie great is that even though it’s based on a stand alone story that eventually became canon. It sort of ties into Batman the Animated Series. I’m not just talking about the fact that voice actors, Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill & Tara Strong return as Batman, Joker & Batgirl respectively. There were certain little bits especially in the newly added Batgirl scenes that hint at the animated series. The biggest being Barbara’s crush on Batman in the show, the movie expands on that tension. Some of the bat gadgets were lifted from it and The Batmobile looked an a lot like the one in the final season of the classic show.

I will say this is no kids movie, it’s probably one of the most twisted Batman movies ever, and from what I was told by someone I saw the movie with they kept it pretty faithful except for the Batgirl backstory at the begining which I didn’t really have a problem with.

Killing Joke

The best thing about the movie was the Joker, I think Mark Hamill is the best Joker ever. Sure it’s only his voice but man he is extra creepy in this, almost scary. There was some bonus footage shown at the screening we were at showing him recording his scenes and just the energy he puts into the performance is incredible. It’s almost a shame he never got to do the part in person but at the same time he’s been able to play the role in movies, TV and video game. It was only right to have him do the voice for a character he’s been for the last 20 plus years. This is the Joker’s movie he’s the star of the show, for once I wasn’t like where’s Batman, it was like bring on more Joker.

batman-killing-joke-animated-movie

I really enjoyed the movie, it was great to watch since I only knew certain parts about the story. I’m going to read it now for sure. If you’re a Batman fan, casual or hardcore I think you’ll really enjoy this one like I did.

Leave a Reply

