COUNTDOWN – 9 MOVIES WE WANT TO SEE THIS SUMMER

Summer movies, my favorite time to go see movies, site in a well air conditioned room, and enjoy movies on the biggest screen I could possibly find for some good escapist entertainment. Normally I’d have all my movies figured out, dates crossed off and tickets pre-bought. Not this year, for some reason save for like 2 or 3 movies dropping this summer I feel like I’ve seen it all before. There is nothing that has me waiting up at night like a 12 year old super excited to see. Example I still haven’t seen Captain America: Civil War yet.

Well the season is quickly approaching and I am interested in a few flicks coming out, but not super excited. Maybe it’s the trailers, I mean nowadays they give away the whole damn movie or they just look like something we’ve seen for the last 5 summers. Well here are 9 movies that I want to see this summer. I’ve broken into 3 categories, Gotta See, Looks Like Fun, and Maybe.

GOTTA SEE Meaning get my tickets early, I’m there at the Midnight or First Day.

1. SUICIDE SQUAD
A movie featuring some of DCs best villains. I was sold on this the minute the casting was announced.

2. X-MEN: APOCOLYPSE
The X-Men movies have been good since First Class, I feel like this one will follow the trend and leads the way for a 90s X-Men movies which is probably the best era of X-Men stories.

LOOKS LIKE FUN Meaning I’ll check it our either opening weekend or the first Tuesday after it’s out.
1. NINJA TURTLES: OUT OF THE SHADOWS
The first one in this series was ok, based on the look of this. I am interested, I feel like they might bring the energy of the 80s/90s cartoon with this movie. Problem is I hate that era of Turtles, but I love the Turtles so I’m most likely going to see this.

2. NICE GUYS
I remember seeing this trailer back in December and thought this could be a great movie to see on a Sunday afternoon. Can’t go wrong with Gosling and Crowe, well actually yeah you can so, let’s hope it’s on the good side.

3. JASON BOURNE
The Bourne movies are always dope. For some reason I always waited until they come out on TV to watch, maybe. I think it’s time to see Matt Damon mess people up on the big screen.

MAYBE I’m in no rush to see this but I will when I have time or I might just skip it.
1. STAR TREK: BEYOND
The last Star Trek annoyed the hell out of me and since JJ Abrams went and remade Episode IV. This could be good.

2. INDEPENDENCE DAY RESURGENCE
Independce Day was a classic, I would go see this with my air max uptempo and relive Summer 96. Only thing is no Will Smith.

3. POPSTAR
I’m not the biggest Sandberg fan, but man this looks funny as hell.

4. BAD MOMS
There were some great jokes in the trailer, if I have nothing to do this is something I’d kill time watching.

So what do you think? Are there better options to check out this summer? If so please share in the comments. And for the record I’m going to see Captain America this weekend, I’ll let you know what I thought about it on Monday.

Leave a Reply

