MY THOUGHTS: NEW JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE AND DESTINY’S CHILD SINGLES

We’re 15 days into 2013 and it already feels like 2003. In one week we’ve seen new singles from Justin Timberlake and Destiny’s Child, personally I’m actually surprised by these releases. JT hasn’t had a new album since 2008 and Beyonce has been preparing us for a new solo album so seeing her get back with Kelly and Michelle was a surprise to me.

jt-hov-suit-tie-500x500


Justin Timberlake Feat Jay-Z – Suit & Tie

On paper this should be a slam dunk, like the Lakers starting line-up but it falls flat and is underwhelming like the Lakers starting line-up. I’ve always liked the work JT has done with the Neptunes more than his work with Timbaland but they have made bigger hits so it would make sense that Tim would do all of his upcoming album. This song doesn’t have any of the energy or the magic that their previous songs had. Now I’m not saying they need to go and remake “Sexy Back” or “Cry Me A River” I was expecting something to bring that feeling. I like the song I think it’s good but it doesn’t have that big comeback song feel to it. It feels like track 4 on album, that cool song you hear before the big single that has been killing the clubs and played on the radio non-stop. Also the song has Jay-Z on it again it’s like Dwight on the Lakers it should make the song better, but like Dwight and the Lakers it does nothing to improve the song, it’s just there. It’s not one of Jay’s best there’s maybe one or two good lines in it. I’ll put money when this gets played at parties you will not hear Jay’s part. Overall it’s not bad, I mean Justin isn’t doing some David Guetta EDM Bullshit, it sounds like he’s picking up where he left off and hopefully he and Timbaland have some more tricks up their sleeves ’cause we know what they can do when they bring their A-Game.

love-songs-cover1


Destiny’s Child – Nuclear

This is what I would expect Destiny’s Child to sound like in 2013. I really didn’t know what to expect when I saw this but this just a great song. Pharrell gave the ladies one of his best beats in a long time. I feel certain artists can bring the best out of him and when he’s on point everything else falls into place. The song makes you want to hear more new Destiny’s Child music, hopefully we can get some more in the future. I know it’s meant to be on an upcoming compilation but I couldn’t find if it’s all new music or just some DC Classics. I’m guessing it’s a greatest hits package because we know if it was a new album there would be a considerable amount of hype around it. I doubt we will so I’ll take these random reunion songs from time to time. Hopefully when they get together at the SuperBowl we get a memorable performance.

At the end of the day I’m happy we can get new music from some of the best artists of my generation. Neither are trying to jump on any new trend to try and connect with new audiences, they are doing what they do best, create innovative and exciting music for us to enjoy.

Let me know what you think about the songs.

Leave a Reply

