WEB SURFING: THE NEW YORKER “WHERE’S EARL?” ARTICLE

While on Facebook this morning my friend Byron Chai of Ooloo Clothing posted a link for a really really good article on Odd Future. It’s probably the best Odd Future story I’ve read to date. If you’re a fan you’ll love it, if you have no idea who these guys and girl are this is a good introduction.

It goes into detail about the members, the formation of the group, the internet phenomenon they have become and most importantly what really happened to member Earl sweatshirt.

Read the story HERE
via Mostly Junk Food

My Thoughts

I gotta say that was a great read. I first heard about about Odd Future in Fader. I would say I’m a casual fan of their stuff. But I do enjoy reading about their success and what they are doing. I still think the best thing they did was sign a distribution deal through Sony and not go with a major label. Hopefully more artists do the same. I think that’s what I like most about Odd Future is the D.I.Y. mentality that they have. That we don’t give a fuck attitude, I mean their under 25. When I was that age I didn’t give much of a fuck about things so I can see why people like them or dismiss them for it. Think of it like this, look at the Beastie Boys when they came out they were about getting drunk and partying. 20 years later their doing things like Save Tibet concerts. So who knows what Tyler and the Gang will be doing 20 years from now.

The whole bit on Earl Sweatshirt was amazing. Just his family history alone. It seems like he is a born poet. After reading what his mom said I can totally agree with her. In this day and age being a young celebrity can be more damaging and helpful. For all we know she could have saved his life. It will be interesting to see what happens once he comes home. Will he even want to rap or be in Odd Future.

Leave a Reply

