TOP 10 THURSDAY – MY FAVORITE LUPE FIASCO SONGS

I was looking on my Itunes and playing all the Lupe songs I have. The total number is 109 that’s all three albums, mixtapes, leaks, singles and guest appearances. Out of that I picked my 10 favorite tracks. It was actually easy to choose the 10. I picked the first ones that came to mind. Funny thing is most of them are the most played also. I left tracks from Lasers off this list since the album is 2 days old. One thing I have to say Lupe is one MC that has never gotten weaker over the years. He’s stayed consistent over the years and only gets better. This is my personal list of my songs check it out and let me know what you think.

10 WHAT YOU WANT – LEAK
“Red carpet on the arms of an artist/Is starlit on the star-less paparazzi target/Thinks being normal´s just so unfair/She knows that its dangerous she wants to be famous”
Lupe tells the tales of the trappings of fame in this leak that was rumored to be on Lasers.

9 GLORY – FARENHEIT 1/15 PART 2
“The truth is limitless in its range if you drop the T & look at it in reverse it could hurt look at the grimaces of the pain.”
This is a gem from the early days it really made me take notice of Lupe’s skills.

8 BIRDS AND THE BEES – LEAK
“Boy on the town and older woman down/cause boy make her laugh when older woman sad/ and older woman freak and he hold her till she sleeps/ and he gotta send her roses every other week.”
This Kanye West produced track never made it to any albums, but thankfully someone leaked it.

7 THE PEN AND NEEDLEZ – FAHRENHEIT 1/15
“In other words I reposition how I sitted/Then make you feel it like I misspelled filet.”
Another early classic with clever wordplay.

6 SAY SOMETHING – ENEMY OF THE STATE
“From here I’ve seen a bunch of fake shit like avid wrestling fans.”
Lupe took Timbaland’s hit and said some dope stuff on it. This freestyle is filled with so many punch lines and in my opinion kills what Timbaland and Drake did.

For the top 5

5 PARIS, TOKYO – THE COOL
“Let’s go to sleep in Paris, wake up in Tokyo, have a dream in New Orleans, fall in love in Chicago.”
Lu travels the globe on a smoothed out beat.

4 I’M BEAMING – SINGLE
“And baby what does it matter where your purse from, your hair done, your nails did, your ass fat but your dumb.”
This was supposed to be on Lasers but didn’t make the final cut.

3 DUMB IT DOWN – THE COOL
“I’m brainless which means I’m headless like Ichabod Crane is/or foreplay that’s sexless”
Label sent a memo for Lupe to “Dumb It Down” I think Lupe missed the memo.

2 HE SAY, SHE SAY – FOOD & LIQUOR
“I want you to a father, he’s your little boy.” “I want you to be a father, I’m your little boy.”
Hands down one of the best songs he’s ever made. Just listen to it.

1 I GOTCHA – FOOD & LIQUOR
“My mind moves faster than that hog in the hedges/welcome all of y’all to my dark recesses/this is where I keep the bars like bathtub edges.”
Love this joint Lupe spittin hot fire over a phenomenal Neptunes beat.

One thought on “TOP 10 THURSDAY – MY FAVORITE LUPE FIASCO SONGS

Leave a Reply

